And then he called

August 26, 2009 § 1 Comment

And after I wrote that post, my … friend … called and we talked a bit about the allowance our culture makes for misogyny, and without having read my blog (I don’t even think he has the adresse here) he casually drops into the convo that it was just a phace, by the way. I’ve stopped feeling like that. So how to handle that? I was prepared at first to  go for the thank god- never mind it all then approach. But I’m not much for forgiving things like that. Not if it doesn’t come with a big does of self analyzing and thinking. You can’t just think it’s suddenly ok because you stopped noticably feeling like that right now; because it might come back. If I tended to constantly fall over while walking outside, and then suddenly stopped for let’s say, five days, I would (hopefully) not just brush it off with it was just a phace, I walk much better now. I’d still check why I keep falling over. Ok, this analogy stumbled (har har) on the fact that I never check my health and so on, but you did get my point.

Not thinking women are horrible creatures doesn’t necessarily make you a better person, because, in many many cases, the quiet by-standers are just as guilty of the crime.

I don’t want to bash my … friend … too much though, he is new to feministic discourse and everything, and he is a bright, intelligent man. When I pointed this out to him he did understand and so on, but I wanted to write about it anyway, it got me thinking.

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to And then he called

  • Scyllas...friend... says:

    Once every third year or so I fall into a phace of misogynistic thoughts. It is appauling, I know, but I recognise them as wrong and tries to get rid of them as soon as possible. So, it’s more like walking perfectly fine (not falling) for a couple of years and then, for some reason, having a period of falling though knowing that the kneebleeding stumbling, tripping, falling will stop if concentrated on the task in hand (walking in a casual way probably whistling a poor tune). It still isn’t ok, but now you know why I used the word “phace”.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading And then he called at and it starts again. and again..

meta

