Mats Söderlund and me

February 23, 2009 § Leave a comment

Mats Söderlund writes a cry in despair here (in swedish) about the new shape the goverment seem to like the swedish art to take. I’m with him, that the state shouldn’t stear or control the art, the poetry and so on.

We can’t live in a system where we are supposed to write something that works with the society around us, poetry and art is supposed to mirror the world, work outside and inside it, not bend to the rules of it. Art is not suppose to make money, it’s supposed to make art. If it would make money it would be design. That’s completely different.

Art is supposed to inspire critical thinking. It’s suppose to be a place where you can channel energy, intelligent reactions and feelings, not a place were you stress your way into producing what someone else wants. But I suppose that’s where we are going. People who themselves know very little about art or the function of it very seldom understands the necessity of it, even though the society around them needs art and it’s expressions to exist.

There is another article about it here. I get so upset reading these things, I mean, until a couple of weeks ago I still had hope that I one day would publish that novel, that I would become an author (more than I already am), but this is making my future very insecure. Maybe there is no point. Maybe I should give up and become another gray nothing instead.

I want to know that for me and the others around me, there will still be a chance, even if we aren’t the most confortable for the establishment. That we aren’t screwed just because we aren’t writing chic-lit or crime.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mats Söderlund and me at and it starts again. and again..

meta

